2018 Board of Directors


(South Bend, IN) – Center for Hospice Care’s 2018 Board of Directors is as follows:  Board Chair is Wendell Walsh, Vice Chair is Mary Newbold, Community Leader; Secretary is Carol Walker, MSN, RNC-NIC, Saint Joseph Health System, Treasurer is Jesse Hsieh, MD, and Amy Kuhar Mauro, 1st Source Bank, is the Immediate Past Chair.

The remaining members of the 2018 Board of Directors are: Jennifer Ewing, RN, MSN, NP-C, AOCNP, Ann Firth, Jennifer Houin, Tricia Luck, Anna Milligan, Tim Portolese, and Suzanne Weirick. 

Wendell Walsh

Wendell, Board Chair, is a partner at May Oberfell Lober. Wendell has been a trial attorney for many years. He also enjoys counseling senior citizens, as evidenced by his focus on elder law. Wendell advises clients on asset preservation and long term health care planning. He’s also a teacher at heart, helping young people through coaching high school and college mock trial teams and by working with Big Brothers/Big Sisters.

Mary Newbold

Mary, Vice Chair, has been a South Bend native since 1987, and has dedicated herself to the community through her continuous volunteer service on a variety of community boards and special events, including Stanley Clark School Parent Board, American Heart Association Board, Center for History Board, Center for Hospice Care Helping Hands Award Dinner Co-Chair (2 years), Memorial Health Foundation Special Events Committee, Junior League members for 20 years, and ALS Fundraising for eight years.

Carol Walker

Carol, Secretary, serves as the Administrative Service Line Director at Saint Joseph Health System, Mishawaka. Her responsibilities include: Medical-Surgical Service Line--Oncology Unit, Cancer Genetics, Cancer Research, Tumor Registry, Pt. Navigators, Medical-Renal Unit; Renal Dialysis, WOCN program, Diabetes Education, and the Pain & Palliative Care programs. Prior to this position she was Director of Professional Development / Magnet, Maternal-Child Clinical Nurse Specialist, and Division Director--MCH, Education, Infection Control, WOCN, & Nursing Documentation at Saint Joseph Health System.

Amy Kuhar Mauro

1st Source Bank, Immediate Past Chair

Jennifer Ewing, RN, MSN, NP-C, AOCNP

Jennifer is the Clinical Operations Officer (COO) at Michiana Hematology Oncology, PC.  She is a Certified Nurse Practitioner by the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners and Certified Advanced Oncology Nurse Practitioner by Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation.  She received her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from St. Mary’s College and Masters of Science in Nursing-Adult Nurse Practitioner Program from Ball State University.   

Ann Firth

Ann serves as Chief of Staff to the University of Notre Dame President, Rev. John I. Jenkins, CSC. She received both a Bachelor's degree and a Juris Doctor from the University of Notre Dame. 

Jennifer Houin, New Board Member

Jennifer Houin is a Vice President of Oliver Ford Lincoln in Plymouth, Indiana. She
concentrates on marketing and advertising currently for their families 3rd generation, family
owned Automobile dealership. She graduated from Plymouth High School in 1984 and attended
2 years at Indiana State in Terre Haute. Coming home from college, she wanted to spread her
wings before getting involved in her family’s business, so her first job was at a local retail
clothing store, then a local factory and then a child care center. This is where she found the love
of giving back. Jennifer is very involved with making a difference in the dealership and on a
personal level. In 2003 she decided, with her sister, Jessica Oliver, to find a way to make a larger
impact on those in their community and started, what is known today, as the Ounce of Prevention
Breast Cancer Foundation. The sisters lost both of their maternal and paternal Grandmothers
that had suffered with breast cancer and wanted to focus on giving back on a big scale to those
that needed help. To date they have raised upward of $300,000.00 for their foundation that is
held with the United Way of Marshall County. During Jennifer’s free time she enjoys being
surrounded with her family, 2 boys, Luke, 17 that’s a senior at St. Joe High School in South
Bend. Grant, 15, that’s a sophomore at Plymouth High School in Plymouth, Indiana and her
husband of 21 years, Chuck Houin, that is self-employed in Plymouth, Indiana. 

Jesse Hsieh, M.D.

Dr. Jesse Hsieh is President of MICHIANA VIP MD, a Direct Primary Care concierge practice. Prior to that, he was at the South Bend Clinic for 28 years where he was President from 2005-2014.

Patricia (Tricia) Luck, New Board Member

Patricia (Tricia) Luck is a housewife, married to Daniel Luck and mother of 5 children, Conor, Haley, Erin, Meagan and Brady. She has a BA in Economics from the University of Notre Dame, Masters in Public Policy, John F Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University. Her community involvement includes being a member of the Sacred Heart Parish, Past Trustee at  LaLumiere School, Past Trustee and Board Chair at La Porte County Family YMCA, Past Treasurer of the Stanley Clark School Parents' Association, Past Board Member and Secretary of  the Memorial Health Foundation, and Past Board Member of Indiana Manufacturers' Association. Patricia was the former Vice President at Hiler Industries from 1987- 1992, and from 1983-1985, National Republican Congressional Committee, Coalition Development.

Anna Milligan

Anna is a  retired registered nurse, she was at one time the Coordinator of the School City of
Mishawaka nursing program. Her interest in education continues today as a longtime volunteer at McKinley Primary Center. She is currently a member of the board of directors for the South Bend Education Foundation which promotes and funds initiatives to enrich learning for students and staff of the South Bend Community School Corporation.

Tim Portolese

With a background in business and marketing, Tim has spent much of the past decade in volunteer service and fundraising / development for mostly Elkhart area non-profit organizations, particularly Child and Parent Services (CAPS). A volunteer since 2004 and a member of the CAPS board of directors since 2009, he has worked on fundraising events that have raised $3 million dollars for preventing and addressing child abuse in Elkhart County.

Suzanne Weirick

Suzanne has a background in Management Consulting and joins the CFHC Board from Elkhart. She is currently a member of the Board of Directors for the Elkhart Youth and Community Center (formerly the YMCA of Elkhart County). She holds an MBA from Illinois State University.