In the News

End-of-Life Planning

End-of-Life Planning Panel Discussion

Thursday, June 20th   11:00 am - 1:00 pm

501 Comfort Place, Mishawaka IN 46545

Upcoming Volunteer Training

2019 Winter Volunteer Training

Our latest edition of CHOICES magazine

At a recent office visit at Michiana VIP MD, Pete was talking to Jami McDonald, Director. “Pete came into an office visit one day and we were talking about my bike,” Jami said. “This may have been when he realized that I rode a bike. As bikers, we naturally share stories of riding. Pete shared his story with me about how he used to ride and how much he loved it. I proceeded to do all the normal stuff that I do for an office visit and right before I left the exam room to get the doctor Pete asked me, ‘Will you give me a ride on your bike some time, it's on my list?’ I said, ‘Absolutely, I will.’

Volunteers Needed

CHC is in need of volunteers in our Plymouth and LaPorte locations. We're especially in need of veterans for our Vet-to-Vet program.

The Formal Announcement of Renaming the Elkhart Inpatient Unit as 'Esther's House'.


David Labrum joins author and artist, Maggie Bair, for the release of her book, I Can Breathe Now, A Memoir of a Mother's Grief Following the Suicide Death of her Son. Meet Maggie and co-author Judy Jones who will both be available to sign books, which can be purchased at the event.

Maggie Bair's original paintings and drawings, featured in this book, will be on exhibit in the gallery. Her artwork was created while working with Art Counselor David Labrum, through the Center for Hospice Care in Mishawaka, Indiana.

Thursday, June 21, 2018, 5:00 - 8:30 p.m.

The Gallery, 120 West Mishawaka Avenue, Mishawaka, Indiana 46545

  • A brief presentation at 6:30 p.m.
  • Open to the general public

For more information: DAVID LABRUM,, 574-850-7257

THE-GALLERY,, 574-261-4777

Juneteenth Celebration


You are invited to a free community event celebrating Juneteenth which will be held  at the Martin Luther King Center, 1522 Linden Avenue, South Bend from 11am - 5pm.

Center for Hospice Care Welcomes Lisa Bryan
Center for Hospice Care Announces 2018 Board of Directors

(South Bend, IN) – Center for Hospice Care’s 2018 Board of Directors is as follows:  Board Chair is Wendell Walsh, Vice Chair is Mary Newbold, Community Leader; Secretary is Carol Walker, MSN, RNC-NIC, Saint Joseph Health System, and Amy Kuhar Mauro, 1st Source Bank, is the Immediate Past Chair.

The remaining members of the 2018 Board of Directors are: Jennifer Ewing, RN, MSN, NP-C, AOCNP, Ann Firth, Jennifer Houin, Jesse Hsieh, MD, Tricia Luck, Anna Milligan, Tim Portolese, and Suzanne Weirick. 

Center for Hospice Care Participates in Meeting with Top CMS Administrator

Center for Hospice Care's President/CEO Mark Murray recently met with CMS Administrator
Seema Verma to discuss hospice and palliative care's pivotal role in the U.S. healthcare system.
MISHAWAKA, Ind. (PRWEB) December 21, 2017 -- On Wednesday, December 13, 2017, Mark Murray,
President/CEO of Center for Hospice Care (CHC) joined members of the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO) in a meeting with Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) AdministratorSeema Verma in Washington D.C.

The meeting focused on hospice and palliative care providers as key resources for delivering high-quality,
compassionate care to individuals and their families who are facing life-limiting illness, as well as how they are poised to be an even bigger part of the health care system in the future.

“It was an honor to have had the opportunity to represent more than 6,000 hospice agencies,” said Murray.
“Center for Hospice Care is proud to be recognized as one the nation’s leaders in Hospice and Palliative Care. CHC is Indiana’s largest independent, not-for-profit hospice and ranks in the top 3% of all hospices in the country in terms of the number of patients and families served each year. We’re grateful to have been invited to discuss the importance of hospice and palliative services in the continuum of end-of-life care.”

Mr. Murray is past board chair of NHPCO and currently serves on the board of directors for the Hospice Action Network (HAN) which advocates for policies that ensure the best care for patients and their families. NHPCO’s President and CEO Edo Banach and others representing the NHPCO also participated in the meeting.

Among items discussed with Ms. Verma and her staff was how hospices can be involved with patients earlier in their disease process, the need for better care navigation and coordination, and future meetings with her staff to continue partnering efforts.

Ms. Verma later tweeted, “I enjoyed meeting with the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and
look forward to working together.”